“I don’t have time!”

Image result for time quotes

I know lately I’ve posted a fair bit about ‘time’, and it’s because I’m trying to be more productive with my time. And there’s the issue right there; ‘my’ time. SubhanAllah. Who has given us this time? Who has given us every single blessing that we have?

Even my 8 year old students at the Mosque give me the excuse of “I didn’t have time” when I ask them if they have practised their Qur’an and Surah’s. How can a child possibly not have enough time? That would be them following the priorities and excuses of their parents and family, but that’s a topic for another day.

So what does it mean when someone says they don’t have time? You have time to eat, to sleep, to do your school/Uni work. Why? Because these things are a priority, and what about if you didn’t do them? If you don’t eat and sleep, you will not be able to function properly. And there are consequences for not doing your school work etc.

The same way people ‘don’t have time to pray’ shouldn’t have time to eat. Because just like the nourishment of the physical body is food, the nourishment of the soul is prayer. Just like you will get sick and die if you do not eat and sleep properly, your spiritual heart can also become hard, and even worse; dead.

If we don’t have enough time to seek knowledge in Islam, then we shouldn’t have time to go to school. Sounds a little extreme, however, the Owner of time commanded certain things for us to do, and if we can’t make time for them then what is our priority? This life or the hereafter?

The clock is ticking. I was listening to a tafseer of Surah Fajr just before, which by the way is a great reminder of time. In the tafseer, the Shaykh said that on the Day of Judgement, even the pious will feel that they should have done more for the hereafter. Isn’t that scary? The amount of regret we will feel for every minute we wasted.

This is a reminder to myself first. May Allah make us of those who use our time productively, and be shaded on the Day of Judgement, ameen.

 

 

3 thoughts on ““I don’t have time!”

Leave a Reply

