Aleppo

​You know what’s the saddest part about what’s happening in Aleppo? 

Our Ummah turns a blind eye, and I’m the most guilty of all. 

We criticize the mainstream media because they don’t see this as ‘newsworthy’. 

But we should know better, what have WE done to help? 

We criticize Muslim countries, but what have WE done? 

Our Muslim brothers and sisters are calling for our help, are we responding fast enough? Or are we too busy blaming one another?

How many times did you scroll past the horror until you realised it’s pretty serious (understatement).  

How do we have the audacity to complain about our lives? 

It’s sad to say that I wouldn’t be surprised if one day we needed the same help and they turned us away.
You know what’s the scariest part? 

What will our answer be on Yaumul Qiyama when Allah SWT asks us what we did to help our brothers and sisters in need. What were we doing whilst they were getting tortured, raped, bombed? 

What will our answer be? 

‘Oh Allah, I was too busy working’? 

‘Oh Allah, I was preoccupied with my family’?

‘Oh Allah, I was living my own life, having fun with my friends, I didn’t even stop to think’? 

‘Oh Allah, I was too selfish to put my own needs aside, I was careless’? 

‘Oh Allah I was expecting so and so to help’?

Forgive me ya Allah.

“And fear a Day when you will be returned to Allah. Then every soul will be compensated for what it earned, and they will not be treated unjustly.” [Qur’an 2:281]
Dearest Muslim friends and family, 

Today, we feel sorry for our brothers and sisters in Aleppo. On Yaumul Qiyama, they’re probably going to feel sorry for us. 

By helping them you are essentially helping yourself, just like every good deed, every charity you give.

The Prophet Muhammad SAW said:

“…If anyone fulfils his brother’s needs, Allah will fulfil his needs; if one relieves a Muslim of his troubles, Allah will relieve his troubles on the Day of Resurrection…” [Bukhari and Muslim]. 

It may seem as individuals there is nothing we can do. There is always something we can do;

Make as much sincere dua as you can, raise awareness, DONATE, speak to your connections, raise money. We need to stop pointing fingers and utilise the blessings Allah SWT has given us. 

I fear the Day I have to face my Lord and tell Him why I didn’t do enough.  

#Aleppoisburning 

The Ummah is sleeping.

Leave a Reply

