Compromises

You know what is wrong with our ummah? It’s that we compromise too much. I’m not speaking of the good compromise – the ones that we make for other humans, such as compromising our time and things in order to make relationships work. No, I’m talking about the kind of compromises we make regarding our values. We compromise our whole belief system, why? Because everyone else is doing the same…

We are desensitized to things like alcohol, music, interest etc, not only by Western culture, but also from our fellow Muslim brothers and sisters. Our mindset has slowly gone from “I’ll never do that” to “Well, everyone else is doing it”. So and so person is religious and they do it, so it must not be that bad, right..? Wrong. What was decreed as haram will always be haram. Just because you live in a kuffar country, it doesn’t make interest halal. Yes, Islam is supposed to be easy, but you don’t pick and choose what suits you.

What complicates things even more is when people throw culture in the mix. Oh what a disaster! 

Everyday I’m surrounded by Muslims who think it’s okay to drink and smoke and party. Muslims who mix culture in to this Deen that has been perfected for us. Sometimes it gets so frustrating to be around these people. Not because I’m judging them, but because I’m afraid that their mentality will rub off on me. I’m afraid that shaytan will beautify these things for me, the way he’s beautified it for them. I’m afraid that I will be of the wrong doers. I’m afraid that I’ll go back to living my life in disobedience to Allah SWT. Everyday I’m surrounded by Muslims who live their life as if they don’t know their true purpose. I’m not saying I’m better than them, no, because I was there a few years ago. 

What will it take for us to wake up and realise we need to change? Is it the death of a loved one? Is it a near death experience? 

I would give anything to have family that prays with me, friends that elevate my imaan. I would give anything to be surrounded by Muslims that don’t give you the look when they find out you aren’t going to their music filled wedding. People who support me to be the best Muslim I can be. 

This is starting to sound a little whiney. Alhamdulillah for everything, for the roof over my head, for the clean water and food. Alhamdulillah that I have a family, an income and an education. Alhamdulillah, Allah has opened my eyes to what’s really important. 

I just can’t image how reverts feel, especially if their family is unsupportive. The sad thing is, a lot of our families have born Muslim, grown up Muslim, but raised the western way. Raised with too much culture and not enough religion. Therefore, when they see you practicing, they’re not very supportive. This baffles me every single day. May ALLAH make it easy for us to practice our Deen. May Allah make it easy for us to gain knowledge everyday, put it into practice and give dawah in a way that is pleasing to Him. Ameen. 

May Allah guide us all, keep us firm on this Deen, and make it easy for us to be the best Muslims we can be. Ameen.

P.s. excuse the jumble, it doesn’t quite flow. #1amrants

 

2 thoughts on “Compromises

  1. justsayyas says:

    Slms.. Yeah I’ve lived though some of this and some of my deviation from the Deen could have been avoided if it wasn’t so normal. Alhamdulillah I’m starting to see the truth.
    Hoping for others to come to their senses. … everyone will find their way back in their own time. Insha Allah, He swt will guide them. You can’t hope for death of a family member or anything else to open their eyes.
    What you can do is be the best muslim you can be and recognise the good in everyone and pray that everyone recieves the same guidance you have. Remember to be grateful that you are not of them, that is a gift from your Lord.
    May Allah swt continue to bless you with fastness on this deen and guide all of us to be devoted followers of Islam. Ameen.

    Like

    • loveforhijab says:

      Wa Salam. Correct, Allah guides whom He wills. Please don’t take me the wrong way sis, I meant that death of a loved one is what it’s going to take for some people to turn to the Deen, I’ve seen it happen. It is a blessing in disguise. I definitely did not wish or hope death upon anyone.
      I hear you sister, but sometimes it gets frustrating. Especially when your own Muslim family members advise you to do certain haram things. Indeed, that is one of my biggest flaws, is being critical of people. And believe me, I do not voice it to them in order not to cause tension, that’s why I let it out on here.
      Allahumma amen. May Allah reward you sis. JazakAllah kheir

      Like

Leave a Reply

